About Red Horse Racing

It was in 2005 when Tom DeLoach combined his love of racing with his business expertise and pursued the purchase of a NASCAR racing team. Red Horse Racing quickly grew into one of the leading NASCAR Camping World Truck Series teams. The organization has amassed 13 wins, 11 poles, 86 top-five and 181 top-10 finishes in 10 seasons. As the team continues to grow and mature, the objective is to continue to produce championship contending Toyota Racing teams in pursuit of hoisting the year-end trophy as champions of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

History Timeline


2014 is the Year of The Horse according to the Chinese New Year and Red Horse Racing is looking to be more competitive than ever. The team is once again fielding three full-time trucks with Brian Ickler in the No. 7 Bullet Liner Toyota Tundra, Timothy Peters in the No. 17 Red Horse Racing Toyota Tundra and German Quiroga in the No. 77 NET10 Wireless/OtterBox Toyota Tundra.


Following the most competitive season to date in the Camping World Truck Series, the debut of dirt racing and the return to road course racing was included in the 22-race schedule in 2013. For the first time Red Horse Racing fielded three full-time teams. Timothy Peters returned to the organization for his fifth season, while German Quiroga and John Wes Townley both joined the team for their first full-time Truck Series season. Quiroga became the first Mexican-born driver to earn a pole award in one of NASCAR’s three premier series on July 13, 2013 at Iowa Speedway, while Peters earned wins at Iowa Speedway and Last Vegas Motor Speedway. Red Horse Racing collectively earned two wins, six top-five, and 24 top-10 finishes.


2012 was Red Horse Racing best season on record. The team entered their eighth full-time season, collecting an organization high five wins, three poles, 22 top-five and 32 top-10 finishes amongst four drivers. John King kicked off the season with a win at Daytona International Speedway. Two-time champion Todd Bodine joined the team for 2012 earning the team’s second win of the season at Dover International Speedway. Timothy Peters in his No. 17 Tundra captured two wins for the team including a dominating performance at Bristol Motor Speedway leading all 204 laps. Peters contended for the championship finishing just six points shy of top honors. Parker Kligerman finished the last 11 races in the No. 7 scoring his first win in the Truck Series at Talladega Superspeedway. Red Horse Racing is the only organization in the series 18-year history to have a win with each of its four drivers.


Consistency was the word of the year in 2011. Peters was once again behind the wheel of the No. 17 Toyota Tundra and was joined by Truck Series rookie of the year contender Miguel Paludo as teammate. Peters remained in the top-five in the point standings for much of the season and continued to raise eyebrows as a contender in the championship battle. Peters earned one win at Lucas Oil Raceway in July and went on to record five top-five and 12 top-10 finishes in 2010. Peters earned a fifth-place finish in the year end point standings and was honored on stage at the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series banquet for the first time in his career. Paludo had a stand-out year earning three top-five and seven top-10 finishes. Red Horse Racing also recorded their best team finish of second and third at Michigan International Speedway in June.


Peters returned to Red Horse Racing to pilot the No. 17 Toyota Tundra. He was joined by ARCA Re/Max champion Justin Lofton as a teammate. Red Horse Racing also entered a third truck in three events in 2010 for Brazilian drivers Nelson Piquet Jr. (1) and Miguel Paludo (2). Peters and the No. 17 team displayed a strong showing early in the season winning the season opener at Daytona International Speedway. Peters earned two pole positions in 2010 and finished sixth in the year end standings. A combined effort between all four drivers gave Red Horse Racing one win, two poles, nine top-five and 26 top-10 finishes.


More changes ensued for Red Horse Racing as they expanded to a two-truck team operation. Reigning 2008 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Johnny Benson joined Red Horse Racing in hopes of becoming the first driver to earn back-to-back titles. Also joining RHR as teammate to Benson was T.J. Bell as he looked to compete in his first full season of Truck Series competition. However, when sponsorship could not be secured for Benson, Red Horse Racing was forced to cease operation of that team. In June, Timothy Peters joined Red Horse Racing to pilot the No. 17 Strutmasters.com Toyota Tundra. Peters earned his first Truck Series career pole at Nashville Superspeedway in August followed by his first career win at his home track of Martinsville Speedway in October. Peters finished the year eighth in the season-end standings. Bell collected one top-five and five top-10 finishes, finishing 15th in the year end point standings.


Starr rejoined Red Horse Racing in 2008 competing full-time for the young organization. Starr piloted the No. 11 Toyota Tundra to four top-five and eight top-10 finishes in 2008 earning a 12th-place finish in the end of the year standings.


NASCAR Truck Series rookie of the year contender Aaron Fike was hired to compete for Red Horse Racing in 2007. Fike completed 12 events before he was suspended by NASCAR for failing a drug test. Fike was replaced as driver of the No. 1 Toyota Tundra by a host of drivers including David Green, Brandon Whitt, and Jason Leffler. Despite the driver changes the team earned five top five and 12 top-10 finishes and completed each of the 25 races during the season.


David Starr was hired in 2006, to drive the No. 11 Toyota Tundra for Red Horse Racing. Starr earned the team’s second victory at Martinsville Speedway in March. Starr experienced a very successful year recording one win, six top-five and 12 top-10 finishes and earning fourth-place in the Truck Series point standings.


Red Horse Racing team owners Tom DeLoach and Jeff Hammond bought into ownership of Clean Line Motorsports with driver Brandon Whitt and changed the team’s name to Red Horse Racing. Whitt captured the pole at Memphis Motorsports Park and Phoenix International Raceway. Whitt recorded the team’s first win at Memphis Motorsports Park in unbelievable fashion defeating Truck Series veteran Ron Hornaday on the last lap to claim the victory. At the end of the season, DeLoach and Hammond purchase the remaining assets of the team.